## Minutes Feb 24, 2020 Alpha Kappa Chapter-GSO

Connie Black gave the inspiration. Beth Heckman called the meeting to order as Mary Anne was in Bluffton with her family. Betsy introduced District Director Gwen White and Gwen mentioned the up-coming mini-hostel in March and there will be state officer training in April. She suggested that we add our orientation for membership for new members to our website.

The treasurer's report and the minutes from January were approved. The treasurer reported \$16,214.71 in the total chapter assets as of 02/01/2020. Rosemary thanked the nominating committee for working to get the slate of officers for the next biennium. The officers will be voted on in March and inducted in April. The yearbook chair is still vacant.

Beth reminded us to read <u>Educated</u> by Tara Westover for our March book club meeting. Janet and Joyce will be our facilitators. Betsy reminded us that we are still collecting \$10 gift cards for Eaglewoods Academy teachers to give them in May along with a teacher appreciation breakfast. In September we will bring items for the Eaglewoods Academy bucks store. Alpha Kappa is not as involved this year with the WRC so there is no need for canned foods now.

Beth introduced our speaker Tommy Barber who is a historian in Dekalb County. Tommy educated us on the many, many famous people from all walks of life from Dekalb County: baseball, basketball, hockey, and football players, new media personnel, television and movie actors, directors, governmental leaders. Tommy added his humor and his individual style and personality to keep us engaged and entertained. In closing he asked us to write down any Dekalb student we know of who has achieved in his/her field and let him add them to his list.

We sang the first verse of the DKG song and our meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Virginia Robinson-recording secretary 2018-2020

2020-2022 Officers and Committee Chairs for Alpha Kappa Chapter

President: Peggy Haller

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President: Jennifer Westrick

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: Rosemary Chisolm

Treasurer: Melinda Morin

Recording Secretary: Jennifer Sprouse

Parliamentarian: Janet Goldin

Historian/Scrapbook: Gi'Anna Henderson

Corresponding Secretary: Cecelia Ropp

Nominating Committee: Mary Anne Barlow, Betsy Barb, Helen Chilton

Communications: Betsy Barb

Phone/email/ attendance information before meetings: Joyce Reynolds

Membership Committee: Robin Olsen, chair; Joyce Reynolds, Carolyn Davison

Music: Carolyn Davison

Finance Committee: Melinda Morin, Peggy Haller, Mary Anne Barlow

Photo Directory: Rosemary Chisolm

Educational Research: Connie Black

Scholarships: Janet Goldin, Melinda Morin, Betsy Barb

Yearbook: Che Guilford